add "Save / Apply" and a "Cancel" button to Preferences Dialog
The Preferences Dialog should have a "Save / Apply" and a "Cancel" button instead of "Close."
It's currently unintuitive, closing the window is not the same as hitting "Close".
It shows Apply - Save - Close (not Cancel), and i suppose Close is acting as Cancel and Close. Save is acting as Apply and Close. Apply is just Apply.
Fixed, patch submitted by David Schuster.
Yes - but suppose you perform the following (which is exactly what my manager did):
Select "Login" in the left pane
Check the "Autologin" box
Just close out of the window, not hitting the "Close" dialog button.
Your setting will not be saved.
The standard interface in Windows as can be seen in something like Display Settings is OK / Cancel / Apply. OK would Apply and exit. Cancel would do nothing and exit. And Apply would apply the changes, but allow you to continue editing.
Currently this works by committing changes to preferences as you switch preference windows.
Also, when you press close it commits the changes from the current preference panel.
This is nice, but i think it takes that control of committing changes away from the user, both a good and a bad thing.